The Gardening Experience

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18

In the last few months I’ve suddenly found myself with a lot of time on my hands. I have never had the opportunity or time to garden before. I didn’t even know if it was something I liked. I had just moved to a new country and I had to now acclimatize myself to the new flora around me. But, I was in a new place, a new hobby couldn’t hurt, right? Yeah, right! I managed to acquire the seeds to some flowering plants. But when to plant them? Do they require a sunny spot or the shade? Did they like to be drenched or was watering too much harmful? So many questions – but Google and some well-meaning friends came through for me.

It’s been 2 weeks since the planting. My garden now has tiny little plants poking through. That’s 14 days of patiently watering and hoping I wasn’t killing them with my ignorant handling. Ah, the relief, the first time I saw signs of life!

I was suddenly struck by the comparison of sowing in my prayer life. How many times have we prayed over something in our lives – not sure what our Father’s decision will be – but still pushing through? I saw those prayers as seeds we planted – not knowing if those prayers would be answered. But patiently waiting to see the result.

Those seeds in my garden didn’t know me or my worry but they knew their purpose. Similarly, our prayers know their purpose – to rest at the feet of God. And when the time is right, the Lord will give us His answer.

Have you been praying hard for something? Is it time for your harvest or have the seeds only just been sown? Just remember to ‘rejoice always and pray without ceasing,’ – everything is in His safe hands.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

