Dr Who for the Christian Fan

Dr Who fans, anyone?

My husband (L) recently asked me why I liked Dr Who so much. He’s the documentary-loving kinda guy and he managed to sit through half an episode of Dr Who with me (I am convinced that he declared his love for me the most in those 20 minutes.┬á­čśŤ ). Anyway, I tried to explain to him what I liked but I don’t think I was able to articulate to my satisfaction.

So, I sat down and tried to see the bigger picture. Why did I like Dr Who so much?┬áDaleks, Cybermen, TARDIS, time travel, alternate universes, distant planets – what’s not to like, right? But somehow it was the character of the Doctor that I found fascinating.┬áThe creators of the series gave the Doctor a fun personality with very human-like quirks, a strong love for his companions, the ability to travel through time and space, a forgiving nature, etc.

And then I saw that I had been reading and learning of another ‘man’ all my life – one who could travel through time and space (in fact, he created them), who was fun and loving with His children, fearsome in anger and yet forgiving by nature. I saw Jesus┬áas the blueprint for the character of Dr Who. Don’t get me wrong!┬áThe Doctor has flaws and is always learning and growing – something our Lord is kinda too wise to have to bother with. But the Doctor, quite obviously, shares a few qualities of our Lord.

2 Peter 3:8 says, “With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.” Time travel without a blue box – see?

Psalm 86:15 says, “But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.”┬áThat’s love, anger, forgiveness – all explained right there.

There are so many more comparisons I can locate and would love to expound upon. But I think these will be enough to impress L.

Meh! Why do I bother. He won’t even remember having asked me the question. ­čśŽ

Leave a Reply

