On Being A Baker’s Friend

I have a friend. She bakes the best goodies, I think, this side of heaven. No, I don’t hang out with her for the goodies, although they make quite a delectable incentive. 🙂

Imagine, a cake so smooth it melts like cotton candy on your tongue. You close your eyes to savor the taste and a screen comes to life at the back of your eyelids playing all your best memories. That feeling of goodness those memories bring permeates every part of your body… all that from one bite, or it’s just the sugar rush! Either way, I couldn’t be a happier camper.

So, why am I suddenly rhapsodizing about her creations, you ask? Well, she sent me the picture of a cake she baked a few hours ago. I didn’t get to eat that one. Since misery loves company, it only seemed fair I share it with you.

cake

Choc-Peanut Butter Cream… sigh!

However, it also got me thinking. The sense of taste is such a small aspect of our human body. But I don’t often thank God for it, in fact, I’ve never said, “Thank you, Father, for my taste buds.” Have you?

Sure, if I don’t like something I eat, I can be quite vocal about it. And when I enjoy the taste, I thank the cook. But what about the creator who so cleverly orchestrated the combination of working mouth parts that enabled me to enjoy the taste?

Ah, well, as Rowling puts it, “Understanding is the first step to acceptance, and only with acceptance can there be recovery.”

So, understanding – check.

Acceptance – check.

…and now to recover.

“Thank you, Father, for all your blessings, especially, for the gift of the senses.”

Now, excuse me please. I have to go work out. I have been promised a cake this Saturday. If it is anything like that picture my friend sent, I’ll need to prepare my body for the influx of calories. 😛

Leave a Reply

