The Block

For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. – Newton’s third law

Everything works on the healthy alliance of opposing forces – good vs bad, health vs sickness, yin vs yang, etc. Everything since the dawn of time is the culmination of things working together and separately to balance each other out. Apparently, it is the happy marriage of opposites that makes the world go round.

However, if you are a writer, Newton’s third law may just not be your favorite. It sure isn’t mine. Would you like to know why? Well how about the very simple but infuriating fact that (thanks to the ‘equal and opposite reaction’ nonsense – yes, I am blaming Newton. So, sue me!), if you, as a writer, have days when your bright ideas overflow without ceasing, you will also have days when that just won’t be the case.

We, writers, live for those days when a whirlwind of ideas and thoughts abound within us fighting for place and recognition, and really rue those when we feel more like a sponge squeezed out and emptied of all brilliance. The muggle world calls it a writer’s block.

WhatsApp-Image-20160523

Writer’s block, anyone?

I don’t know about you but to me the absence of ideas is more than just a writer’s block. It is as cataclysmic as a black hole, one that opens up in the depths of my mind. It sucks up not just my creativity but also my ability to weave words together. All it leaves behind are the depressing memories of days when the Creative Force still stood strong and provided me with thoughts to share.

However, now that I think about it, if today is one of my bad days, and I am done with the lion’s share, then in accordance with Newton’s law, the equal and opposite reaction, i.e., the flow of creative ideas should be making a visit sometime soon.

But, soon after that the tide will turn again to cause a return of the block – oh, man! I should just leave this alone. This has been happening since the first writer walked the earth and will continue long after I am gone. The writer’s block is a burden all writers have had to bear and the saga will continue till the last writer on earth retires her writing chops. Who am I to fight it? I have other battles to wage and wars to plan (figuratively, people!).

(One-word prompt: Saga)

4 thoughts on “The Block

  1. Thank you for writing this post. It reminded me that last week I struck gold and to go work on those ideas while the your mind is paying back Newton for this law of his. Keep up the great writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have those black hole moments too!! I had been having quite the block for about 2 weeks until i did a daily prompt. I really needed a little inspiration. That being said, reading great writing like yours is inspiring on its own!

    Like

    • These daily prompts are quite the life-savers, aren’t they? And glad to see the idea of the black hole resonated with you. Thank you once again for your kind words. I enjoyed reading your post too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

